Crucifixion And The Normal Christian Life

The apostle Paul did not say he "wished" he was crucified with Christ, but that he already was. By faith Paul made the crucifixion of Christ his own death to sin, which preceded his participation in the Spirit, receiving the indwelling presence of God in Christ. This experience is not merely offered to us, but is that which makes and keeps one a Christian.

"I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me." (Gal 2:20 ESV)

This is the normal Christian life. It was not something reserved for the supposedly spiritual elite. Being crucified and risen with Christ through faith was a real, tangible, identifiable, recognizable experience in the life of every Christian. We see this clearly in the consciousness of their union with the Spirit. Frequently in the book of Acts we are reminded of this great truth. I agree with James Dunn, the single most important sign of New Testament Christianity was the indwelling of the Holy Spirit.

The church was the group who could say "God with Us" (Barth). Church was and is to be now the body of Christ on earth through the indwelling of the Spirit by faith. "Christ and him crucified" is to be the living reality of daily life for both the individual Christian and the corporate body of believers. And it will be so if we place all of our faith in the person and work of Christ for us at Calvary.