Building a Social Media Base | And what I'm up to

First, a link with what I think would be common sense tips for growing your influence in social media. http://wp.me/pZAKU-8tH

Second, I want to say something about what interest me and what I’m up to on this new blog.

I write on Christian spiritual life and theology. But I try to keep the theology on a common or nontechnical level. I prefer big ideas to big words. Still I can get over the top at times. I seem to have just enough formal education to get me into trouble.

I also seem to swing, at least for now, between two poles. One is the practical side of spiritual life, the things of relationship, lifestyle, and just the everyday business of living in or out of the Kingdom of God.

At the other pole is my strong belief that we are living at the end of what is called salvation history. These are very related in my mind, so I hope I can bring them closer together. I think that will have as much to do with my thinking as it does the craft of writing. Of course those two things are inseparable in their own right.

In other words, my studies in prophecy tell me Jesus Christ is coming soon. Now I know the time and manner of his coming has some odd and not-so-odd interpretations. My own method is to let the Bible interpret itself. That can be easy at times and harder at others. I won’t take time to break that down right now, but we can look at it more in the future.

Someday I may get around to telling my story, the whole story as I remember it, of my personal redemption, of my addictions and the journey to wholeness that I am still on.

Now a short word about my health as it relates to all this. I’ve had two surgeries on my right eye (multiple retina detachments) and a motorcycle accident 6 months ago. The knee damage is healing as it should, but the eye is not so good. I read and write with one eye closed. How that plays out is that I can only read or write for shorter stretches now. I have to budget my time to get things done. Still, I go for a few hours at a time when I’m in the creating zone. I get tired in body and brain in ways that are new and frustrating for me. I feel weaker, but I am not giving in.

I also feel a compulsion to write and speak on the Word of God with a growing urgency. Short-time kicks me forward. Perhaps my own timeline is closing sooner than later. I’ve often thought that, that a ripe old age isn’t my lot in life (I have certainly abused my privileges). But I don’t live in some morbid fear of loss. I just feel an urge to tell the story I know is true, to talk about the road of reality and the deceptive sidetracks that I’ve learned about on the way.

I appreciate your readership and your prayers. I look forward to more time together with new friends.

So, that’s about all I want to add at the moment.

Tell me what you think. Let’s talk about it, share, and see how we can help each other along the way.